Raid Raptors Academy

NEW RRA HERE


Log in

I forgot my password

Who is online?

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None


[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 45 on Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:42 pm

Member Of The Week


    Yu-Gi-Oh! Terminology

    Share
    avatar
    Alexis Rhodes

    Badges : N/A.
    Posts : 72
    Raptor Points : 4045
    Join date : 2015-05-02
    Age : 20
    Location : England

    Yu-Gi-Oh! Terminology

    Post by Alexis Rhodes on Sun May 24, 2015 7:54 am

    Attack Directly
    Attacking directly means that a monster attacks a player instead
    of attacking a monster. In this case, the damage to the player will
    be equal to the monster’s ATK. Some monsters have an effect that
    allows them to attack directly even if the opponent controls a
    monster.

    Banished Cards
    Although a card that has been used is normally sent to the
    Graveyard, a card which is banished is separated from the field
    instead. After a Duel, you must return your banished cards so you
    can use them for the next Duel.

    Battle Damage
    Battle Damage is damage inflicted to a player by an attacking
    monster, or by a battle between two monsters. This is different
    from damage from the effect of an Effect Monster, Spell Card or
    Trap Card.

    Cards on the Field
    When “cards on the field” is written in card text, it means all the
    cards on the Game Mat other than the Graveyard, Deck, and Extra
    Deck.

    Control
    A card you control is a card on your side of the field. You are
    the player that gets to make decisions regarding that card. Your
    opponent can take control of a card away from you with a card
    effect. In that case the card is moved to your opponent’s side of
    the field. However, if your card that is controlled by your opponent
    is sent to the Graveyard, or returned to the hand or Deck, it is
    always returned to the hand or Deck of the card’s owner.

    Destroy
    A card is destroyed when it is sent to the Graveyard due to battle
    between monsters or by an effect that destroys a card. A card that
    is returned from the field to the hand or Deck, or, that is sent to the
    Graveyard as a cost or Tribute, is NOT considered “destroyed.”

    Discard
    Discard means to send a card from your hand to the Graveyard.
    This can happen because of a card effect or by adjusting the
    number of cards in your hand during the End Phase.

    Effect of Cards
    The effect of a card is the special ability written on it, like the effect
    of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster. Costs that are needed to activate
    an ability are not part of the effect. The conditions that describe how
    to play a “Special Summon Monster” are also not an effect

    Equip Cards
    In addition to Equip Spell Cards, sometimes Trap Cards or Monster Cards
    can become equipped to a monster. Equipped Traps remain Trap Cards,
    but equipped monsters are considered to be Equip Spells. The term “Equip
    Card” includes all 3 kinds (standard Equip Spells, equipped Traps, and
    equipped monsters). If a Monster Card is equipped to another monster, it
    remains equipped to that monster and cannot be moved to a different
    target, even by card effects that would normally be able to do so.
    EXCEPTION: Union monsters equipped by their own effects can be moved
    by appropriate card effects

    Equipped Monster
    A monster that is equipped with an Equip Card is an “equipped monster.”
    When this monster is destroyed or flipped face-down, the equipped card
    loses its target, and is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

    Excavate
    When a card says to “excavate” cards from your Deck, you reveal
    those cards to both players. Then, before you do anything else,
    apply the instructions from the card effect that excavated them.
    Cards that are being excavated are still treated as being in the Deck
    until sent elsewhere by the card instructions.

    Original ATK (or DEF)
    The Original ATK (or DEF) is the number of ATK (or DEF) points printed on
    the Monster Card. This does not include an increase from an Equip Spell
    Card or other card effect

    Pay a Cost
    To pay a cost is an action required in order to activate a card, an effect,
    or to Summon a monster. Tributing to Tribute Summon a Level 5
    monster is an example of a cost. Other common costs are discarding,
    paying Life Points, or banishing cards. You have to pay any costs
    before you declare the activation of the card. Even if the activation of
    the card is negated, you cannot get a refund of the cost that you have
    paid.

    Piercing Battle Damage
    Some monsters can inflict piercing Battle Damage when they attack a
    Defense Position monster. This means that you inflict damage to your
    opponent’s Life Points equal to the difference between the attacking
    monster’s ATK and the defending monster’s DEF.

    Random
    When a card effect says to choose a card randomly, there is no official
    way of doing so, but it is fine as long as neither player has a way of
    knowing which card is being chosen.

    Reveal
    When an effect says to reveal a card, you show it to both players.
    You may have to reveal a face-down card, a card from your hand,
    or from the top of your Deck. Revealing a card does not activate
    the card or its Flip Effect. Normally, revealed cards are returned
    to their original position after being looked at by both players.

    Search your Deck
    Whenever an effect instructs you to add a card from your Deck to
    your hand, or to Special Summon a monster from your Deck, you
    can pick up your Deck and search through it for the appropriate
    card. You must shuffle your Deck after any time you search it and
    let your opponent shuffle or cut. You cannot activate an effect to
    search your Deck for a card if there are no cards that meet the
    requirements in your Deck.

    Send to the Graveyard
    A card can be sent to the Graveyard in various ways. Destroying a
    card, discarding, and Tributing a monster are all actions that send a
    card to the Graveyard, and will normally activate “When this card is
    sent to the Graveyard…” Trigger Effects. EXCEPTION: When a
    banished card is moved to the Graveyard, it is not considered to be
    “sent to the Graveyard”.

    Set
    Playing a card face-down is called a Set. For Monster Cards, playing
    it in face-down Defense Position is called a Set. Any card that is
    face-down on the field is a Set card.

    Shuffle
    There is no rule for how to shuffle, but while shuffling you cannot
    look at the cards you are shuffling, or arrange the cards and then
    shuffle them.

    Tribute
    Tributing is sending a monster you control to the Graveyard. You
    can Tribute a face-up or face-down monster, unless otherwise
    specified. Tributing a monster is one possible cost for Summoning
    a monster or activating an effect. A monster sent to the Graveyard
    by Tributing is not treated as “destroyed.”
    A card can be sent to the Graveyard in various ways. Destroying a
    card, discarding, and Tributing a monster are all actions that send a
    card to the Graveyard, and will normally activate “When this card is
    sent to the Graveyard…” Trigger Effects. EXCEPTION: When a
    banished card is moved to the Graveyard, it is not considered to be
    “sent to the Graveyard”.

      Current date/time is Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:56 am